Those Cards

That’s not what I said!
You know that’s not true
I pray but still see red
And will never understand you
The knots in my back
Have life of their own
It’s not experience I lack
Decades after promise shown
I thought I knew what I was doing
I thought I had it figured
There an hour before the viewing
I saw it all triggered
“Home is where the heart is”
“You can sleep when you’re dead”
I’ve known what apart is
Lying in our empty bed
Misrepresent me
Tell another lie
Those cards that you sent me
What, where and why?
O.G. Hawkins

Leave a Reply

