10 comments

  1. Joanna Gilman Hyde Blair

    Even though this painting is titled Blue Sky, it looks like an abstraction of an interior space, complete with furniture and window. Its intriguing and I like the play of light.

  2. pointsthruprose

    It’s like the blue sky is some sort of live matter and it is either clearing or filling the room. The room seems old with torn curtains on the windows. Is the blue sky opening up to the room or closing it out? All in all “light” is the prevailing force. I really like this painting Jill, Thanks for sharing
    Jackie

  3. Jill Joy

    Thank you for your comments. This is my favorite so far of a new series I’m working on called “SKY” and yes, it references primarily an interior space…that of my own mind or spirit or soul…these days I’m less and less sure of the differences between the three. It’s a moment in time record of my own personal emotional clearing and remaining debris. I think what startled me so much about this painting when complete was even though I was in a turbulent emotional space there was so much light. Last night i had a dream that i was telling an experienced painter or mentor that whether we are painting abstract or representational work what we are all trying to capture is the light.

    • Joanna Gilman Hyde Blair

      I agree that one’s “own mind or spirit or soul” can be very difficult to differentiate — maybe we don’t have to. Thank you for your description of your painting. I would love to see more, or your whole series.

    • pointsthruprose

      What a beautiful metaphor in your dream. Just think if we all captured the light – what a bright world this would be. Keep painting and talking about it Jill, you have an important message here…
      Jackie

Leave a Reply

