The Slap

The cold hand of reality
Slapped hard across my face
Like a childhood malady
With twice the space

The man on the tube
Tells me I should
Switch to their new lube
Doubleplusgood! 1

The hypocrites are slandering 2
Misleading the herd
Doling bread, pandering
And subverting The Word

I keep the past alive
If only in my mind
All that funky jive
I’ve never been this blind

You got a lot of nerve 3
You know it’s not like that 3
I saw ya on Merv
In your brand new leopard-skin pill-box hat 3

The sting of the slap
Still fresh on my cheek
The lines on the map 4
Ultimately go to the meek

 

O.G. Hawkins

1 – George Orwell’s ‘Nineteen Eighty-four’
2 – Rush
3 – Bob Dylan
4 – Pink Floyd

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

