The Helper’s Cry

I reach out my hand
you get in my way
I find my way around you
My hand is taken
I feel strong
The brave one who takes my hand
Feels strong

and you

you get in my way again
you get in their way
Whether it is
The
Unhealthy
Unemployed
Uneducated
Or a
Child
you get in our way –
with your false acknowledgements
for those who stay in the box
you pump them up
just enough to keep them from wanting
with your clever experiments
of finding the point of control

Whether I am
The
Healthy
Employed
Educated
Or a
Child
You cannot break me
As
I will find others who will take my Hand.

By Jackie McSween, Laid-off Employment Counsellor

                                2011

 

6 comments

  1. Jackie Blair McSween

    I was laid off from my government funded job as an employment counsellor this year. Our provincial government has since cut the funding by about 60% for programs and training to assist the growing numbers of unemployed. These same government officials and their sheep don’t have their eyes open wide enough to see what is going on. Contracts have been given to huge corporations to deliver these services in small communities where mill workers , loggers, and factory workers have lost their jobs due to government and corporate greed. I sob for communities everywhere. We need to wake up – governments are unable to care for us any more (as if they every did) and corporations will continue with their greed and corruption if we let them. It is time for us to take care of ourselves, each other and our communities and get these ego based players out of our way.

    Thank you to all of you who have supported the Occupy Movement.

    • Pat Cegan

      I don’t know which I like better, your poem or your comments here. Thank you, Jackie for speaking your truth. We must join together in whatever ways we can to make the changes that are part of the awakening. People worldwide are crying, “No more will I accept the unacceptable!” I know the end of this story as love and light are always more powerful than darkness. Still, there is much to be done. Each of us can do whatever we can and also join our hearts, our very souls, with others across the globe to fill the world with loving action to take back our lives, clean up our planet and be all that our Creator meant us to be! hugs, pat

  2. Joanna Gilman Hyde Blair

    I think this is one of your best poems and is certainly timely. It’s an important piece of writing.

Leave a Reply

